Exposed: The Young False Prophet

I’ve always been the person to turn to for advice. I don’t know what divine power or whatever decided that I was the person to turn to for all of the answers in the universe but it just happened that way.

For one I look and carry myself in a way that does not reflect my age. At the ripe age of 22 I am often mistaken for someone in their thirties. Now I don’t look that way (At least I don’t think I do) it’s just my disposition.

I have no experience with the situations people bring before me  since they all lead down the road of relationships. I had two relationships that both ended once we went long distance. It’s just the nature of the beast.

You have to be able to cut through the superfluous feelings and get to what is really going on: is  there another player in this game of love?, are you overreacting to a text message he/she probably didn’t put any thought into sending? (Probably and almost always yes.)

For relationship advice I’ve found it helps to know the backstory, of course, but also just the facts. Human behavior is fascinating but when we try to describe certain points of a situation we dabble in the tiny details rather than the bigger picture. So if there is ever a freak out you probably need a different, uninvolved perspective so you can take some time to look at the bigger perspective yourself.

However, the key in this part of the advice process is to actually listen.

Do you have to take anything your friend says to heart? Absolutely not. It’s their opinion and their observation but you may be able to alter your perspective just enough to understand your situation if you do listen.

Like I said the facts vary and the advice changes. How the heck do I pull this wisdom beyond my years out of my thin air? And more importantly, why can’t I ever use it when making my own decisions?

It’s narcissistic writing about how hospitable I am but you know sometimes I want to kick back and relax.

 

via Daily Prompt: Exposed

Leave a comment