My Travel Itinerary for the Remainder of 2017: Hawaii, USA

Hello there friends. How are we today?

Unlike many travel bloggers I’ve come across they pick their locations very carefully, budgeting for months where they are going, planning the seconds they are in each destination.
Well I can’t exactly do that. I work on cruise ships after all and once that ship leaves port I have to be on it. The cool part of my job is that I’m pretty much assigned where I’m going to be for 6 months at a time. I’m not chained to one location.
And for the remainder of this year I am contracted to be sailing in the beautiful islands of Hawaii. With stops in Oahu, Maui, Hawaii (Big Island), and Kauai. I am very excited about what the Aloha state has to offer.

Photograph by CULTURA RM, ALAMY STOCK PHOTO

My previous co-worker gave me a master list of things to do and see while I’m here so I broke it down by Island:

OAHU

  • Kapaeleele Trail
  • Ala Moana Beach
  • Diamond Head Trail
  • Haiku Steps/Stairway to Heaven
  • Hanauma Bay
  • Judd Trail
  • Ka’au Crater
  • Koko Arch
  • Lanipo Trail
    Olomana Trail
  • Mo’ole Valley Falls
  • Lulumahu Falls
  • Makiki Valley Trail
  • Waahila Trail
  • Waikiki

MAUI

  • Waihee Ridge Trail
  • 13 Crossings
  • Bamboo Forest (Pipiwai Trail)
  • Iao Valley
  • Jaws
  • Kula Forest Reserve
  • Chutes and Ladders
  • Haleakala
  • Ho’okipa
  • Kahana Beach
  • King’s Trail
  • Lahaina (Pali Trail)
  • Maui Ocean Center
  • Road to Hana
  • Paia
  • Stable Road Beach
  • Twin Falls
  • Waihou Spring Trail

Hawaii (Big Island)

  • Akaka Falls
  • Ahalanui Warm Ponds
  • Captain Cook Hike
  • Hilo Falls
  • Honolii Beach Park
  • Kahalu’u Beach
  • Carlsmith Beach
  • End of the World
  • Rainbow Falls
  • Liliuokalani Park & Japanese Gardens
  • Volcanoes National Park
  • Kiholo Bay
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park
  • Pineapple Park
  • Pololu Valley
  • Pu’u Wa’awa’a
  • Leleiwi Park
  • Mauna Kea
  • Onomea Bay
  • Panaewa Zoo
  • Shipman’s Beach (Puna Trail & Haena Beach)
  • Waiale Falls

Kauai

  • Kalalau Trail (Hanakapiai Beach & Falls)
  • Na Pali Coast
  • Jurassic Gates
    • Manawaiopuna Falls (Jurassic Park Waterfall)
  • Kalapaki Beach
  • Green Sand Beach
  • Hanalei
  • Hanapepe
  • Hideaway Beach
  • Kapaa
  • Larsen’s BEach
  • Milolii Ridge Trail
  • Holihale State Park
  • Powerline Trail
  • Sleeping Giant (Nounou)
  • Lihue
  • Mahaulepu Beach (Gillin’s Beach, Kawailoa, & Ha’ula Beach)
  • Menehune Fish Pond
  • Poipu
  • Rock Quarry Beach
  • Salt Pond Beach Park
  • Secret Tunnel Hike (Kaapoko Tunnels)
  • Sea Lodge Beach (Kaweonui Beach)
  • Turtle Cove
  • Wahiawa Beach
  • Wai Koa Trail
  • Waimea Canyon
    • Kuikui Trail
  • Wyllie Beach

As you can tell he was an avid hiker so there are quite a lot of trails but what better way to see the beauty of these islands? Unlike my colleague I am a certified SCUBA diver so I plan on hitting the sea floor as well, especially in Kailua-Kona, where the visibility is incredible.

If you have any recommendations or advice please feel free to comment below as I explore each island as thoroughly as possible. Or if you heard of a place that you are curious about and can’t get down here yourself maybe I’ll try it one of these days.

2 thoughts on “My Travel Itinerary for the Remainder of 2017: Hawaii, USA”

  1. Try to see the sunrise AND the sunset on the top of the volcano on the big island.
    They are in different locations and are quite different! We did both, first sunset and a few hours afterwards sunrise.

    I personally liked sunset maybe a touch better but sunrise was spectacular too.
    I posted pictures from it, in case you want to get an idea what might be waiting for you. For me it was was probably the most spectacular sunset I have ever seen anywhere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

